Library Databases

Unless otherwise noted, resources are available at every Wichita Public Library location and through this website. Wichita Public Library card required. Additional resources are offered by the Kansas State Library.

Databases

American Ancestors logo

American Ancestors

Provides access to more than 400 million records spanning the U.S. and beyond, including one of the most extensive online collections of early American records, and the largest searchable collection of published genealogical research journals and magazines. Emphasis on English, New England (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont), New York, Pennsylvania, and Virginia materials.

Available inside the Advanced Learning Library only
Ancestry Library Edition logo

Ancestry Library Edition

With more than three billion names and four thousand searchable databases, Ancestry.com is the number one online source for family history information, including the web's largest collection of historical records. Your family story is waiting.

Available inside Wichita Public Library locations only
AtoZdatabases logo

AtoZdatabases

Search 30 million business profiles and 200 million residents in this power directory. Find friends and relatives, employment opportunities, sales leads, and more.

Auto Repair Source logo

Auto Repair Source

Powered by the automotive experts at MOTOR, Auto Repair Source provides the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls and more.

Bloom's Literature logo

Bloom's Literature

Edited and curated by Yale University professor Harold Bloom, this database includes thousands of critical essays and discussion questions, plus author biographies and character analyses, full-length poems, the full text of hundreds of reference books, full-length videos of classic plays and films, and more.

Britannica - Public Library logo

Britannica - Public Library

Four complete encyclopedias, Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Quotations, News, World Atlas, and more.

Business Source Premier logo

Business Source Premier

Coverage of the leading scholarly business journals dating back as far as 1886. Full text for non-journal content, including financial data, books, industry & market reports, company profiles and more.

Consumer Health Complete logo

Consumer Health Complete

This full-text database provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Topics covered include aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and men & women's health.

EBSCOhost Research Databases logo

EBSCOhost Research Databases

More than 40 research databases are available. Search one or many at once to find information about your topic.

Explora logo

Explora

A simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents. Topic overviews that provide a starting point for research. Includes more than 60,000 videos from the Associated Press.

Explora Educator's Edition logo

Explora Educator's Edition

Allows teachers and librarians to more easily find relevant support materials. Includes an English Curriculum Standards Module to correlate content quickly and easily to Common Core or state-specific curriculum standards.

Explora Elementary Schools logo

Explora Elementary Schools

A version of the Explora database with resources for elementary age children.

Explora High Schools logo

Explora High Schools

A version of the Explora database with resources for grades 9-12.

Explora Middle Schools logo

Explora Middle Schools

A version of the Explora database with resources for grades 6-8.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center logo

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center

A comprehensive resource for career exploration and planning, whether it's industry and professions articles, school planning resources, or skills and career advice. The material draws from a range of authoritative sources, including Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance.

Fold3 Library Edition logo

Fold3 Library Edition

Provides convenient access to U.S. military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. Includes content from the Revolutionary War onward.

Foundation Directory Online logo

Foundation Directory Online

Updated weekly, a database of over 100,000 U.S foundations and corporate donors, over 2.4 million recent grants, and over half a million key decision makers. Search grantmakers, companies, grants, and 990s, plus RFPs, philanthropy news, nonprofit literature and jobs. An excellent tool for persons associated with a non-profit organization looking for grant funding, it includes a wealth of information for first time grantseekers and two categories of funders—direct corporate giving programs and grantmaking public charities. Many free online training courses and tutorials are also available. Part of the Nazar Foundation Collection.

Available inside the Advanced Learning Library only
Genealogy Connect logo

Genealogy Connect

Collection of nearly 600 genealogy research and reference publications in searchable PDF format.

Grants to Individuals logo

Grants to Individuals

Geared toward individuals, this database includes over 10,000 foundation profiles for scholarships, fellowships, grants, awards, and other financial support as sources of funding for individuals and small organizations seeking grant money. It is the only extensive online resource devoted exclusively to foundations that fund individuals. Part of the Nazar Foundation Collection.

Available inside the Advanced Learning Library only
Health Reference Center logo

Health Reference Center

Health Refeence Center includes comprehensive, in-depth coverage of body systems, current health issues, major diseases and conditions, treatments, and procedures, as well as health and nutrition information specific to men, women, children, teens, and seniors. The up-to-date information comes from hundreds of authoritative sources, plus there are thousands of videos, illustrations, and journal articles.

HeritageQuest logo

HeritageQuest

A growing collection of research materials for genealogists and historians.

History Reference Center logo

History Reference Center

Features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, and nonfiction books. Content includes nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 80,000 biographies of historical figures, nearly 46,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Issues and Controversies logo

Issues and Controversies

Explore hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context—an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.

Kansas History, Territorial through Civil War Years, 1854-1865 logo

Kansas History, Territorial through Civil War Years, 1854-1865

Provides a core of primary source documents for the study of Kansas history, packaged with an engaging user interface that provides students and researchers multiple ways of accessing the content. With state and regional histories, travel guides, biographies, speeches and more, the collection provides a range of primary documents.

LearningExpress logo

LearningExpress

Features nearly 1,000 online tutorials, practice tests, and e-books to help patrons of all ages. It offers job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math, and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED® test prep, and more.

Literary Reference Center logo

Literary Reference Center

Content includes more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; more than 86,000 articles and essays of literary criticism; more than 253,000 author biographies; more than 800,000 book reviews; and more than 91,000 poems.

The Mailbox logo

The Mailbox

A classroom and activity resource. Make learning fun while teaching core skills with thousands of worksheets, crafts, forms, songs, games, graphic organizers, patterns, clip art, cards, and more for prekindergarten to grade 6. All content is created by teachers for teachers and is editor-reviewed, and new content is added regularly.

Mango logo

Mango

Learn a language online at your own pace! Use on your computer or, once you set up an account with your library card, use Mango on the go with smartphone and tablet apps.

NewsBank logo

NewsBank

Access world news with NewsBank. More than 10,000 sources from the United States and beyond include audio, magazines, and newspapers.

NoveList Plus logo

NoveList Plus

Just looking for a good book? Try NoveList Plus. This resource includes reviews of print fiction and nonfiction as well as audiobooks. Find recommendations for what to read next!

Nursing and Allied Health logo

Nursing & Allied Health

Provides reliable healthcare information that covers nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and more. Includes more than 715 full-text publications with more than 12,000 full-text articles.

OCLC logo

OCLC FirstSearch

Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.

Available inside Wichita Public Library locations only
Read It! logo

Read It!

Read It! was created for anyone who has a good foundation in English grammar and reading skills. Articles are short and written to support your reading skills as you learn about topics in English that you need for school and everyday life. Find articles about a variety of topics, learn new vocabulary, listen to articles read aloud, sharpen your study skills, and more!

SAMS Technical Publishing logo

SAMS Technical Publishing

Photofact® repair manuals have long been the standard in the repair industry for TVs, VCRs, radios, etc. Since 1946, SAMS has produced manuals for electronics repair - the database now covers almost 200,000 models of consumer electronics devices and is updated monthly.

Available inside Wichita Public Library locations only
Small Business Reference Center logo

Small Business Reference Center

This database covers common business types, a help and advice section, and how-to’s for creating business plans that lead to successful funding. Includes nearly 300 full-text periodicals and dozens of full-text reference books in addition to resources specific to each U.S. state.

US Newsstream logo

US Newsstream

Access news sources from 1980-current including the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal.

NewsBank logo for Wichita Eagle image edition

Wichita Eagle (Image Edition)

Full-text Wichita Eagle articles are available through NewsBank. The image edition, which appears like printed newspaper pages, is available for articles from 2018 to present.

NewsBank logo for Wichita Eagle text edition

Wichita Eagle (Text Edition)

Full-text Wichita Eagle articles are available through NewsBank. The text edition is available for articles from October 1984 to present.

World Almanac logo

World Almanac

Provides students and researchers access to authoritative, essential statistics on hundreds of topics in a searchable online format.

World Almanac for Kids logo

World Almanac for Kids

For intermediate-level students. Its resources for student reports and research include extensive, up-to-date articles; videos; interactive games; science projects; and Homework Help; plus Teacher Resources with lesson plans. Kids can explore age-appropriate subjects while developing online research skills with a trusted source.

World Almanac for Kids Elementary logo

World Almanac for Kids Elementary

Provides trustworthy, kid-friendly reference specifically for elementary grades. Includes illustrated articles, videos, interactives, Fun Facts, and more. The Teacher Support section includes printable handouts, class forms, graphic organizers, and more.

World News Digest logo

World News Digest

With more than 300,000 original articles and a vast archive covering every major event since its inception, this database offers concise summaries of current events and clearly written essays on the top issues of the day.

© Wichita Public Library. All rights reserved.