Provides access to more than 400 million records spanning the U.S. and beyond, including one of the most extensive online collections of early American records, and the largest searchable collection of published genealogical research journals and magazines. Emphasis on English, New England (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont), New York, Pennsylvania, and Virginia materials.
Available inside the Advanced Learning Library only
Powered by the automotive experts at MOTOR, Auto Repair Source provides accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls and more.
Primary source documents including historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more from specific time periods in U.S. history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom.
CQ Researcher provides in-depth coverage of current issues. Its reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.
Available inside Wichita Public Library locations only
This full-text database provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. Topics covered include aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and men & women's health.
Formerly known as History Reference Center. Features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, and nonfiction books. Content includes nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 80,000 biographies of historical figures, nearly 46,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Provides convenient access to U.S. military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. Includes content from the Revolutionary War onward.
Updated weekly, a database of over 100,000 U.S foundations and corporate donors, over 2.4 million recent grants, and over half a million key decision makers. Search grantmakers, companies, grants, and 990s, plus RFPs, philanthropy news, nonprofit literature and jobs. An excellent tool for persons associated with a non-profit organization looking for grant funding, it includes a wealth of information for first time grantseekers and two categories of funders—direct corporate giving programs and grantmaking public charities. Many free online training courses and tutorials are also available. Part of the Nazar Foundation Collection.
Available inside the Advanced Learning Library only
Geared toward individuals, this database includes over 10,000 foundation profiles for scholarships, fellowships, grants, awards, and other financial support as sources of funding for individuals and small organizations seeking grant money. It is the only extensive online resource devoted exclusively to foundations that fund individuals. Part of the Nazar Foundation Collection.
Available inside the Advanced Learning Library only
Health Reference Center includes comprehensive, in-depth coverage of body systems, current health issues, major diseases and conditions, treatments, and procedures, as well as health and nutrition information specific to men, women, children, teens, and seniors. The up-to-date information comes from hundreds of authoritative sources, plus there are thousands of videos, illustrations, and journal articles.
A growing collection of research materials for genealogists and historians.
The experience and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media, 1704 to today. From NewsBank.
Explore hundreds of hot topics in politics, government, business, society, education, and popular culture. Presented in a balanced, pro/con format, each article presents the key facts, arguments, history, and current context – an ideal resource for research papers, debate preparation, and persuasive writing assignments.
Provides a core of primary source documents for the study of Kansas history, packaged with an engaging user interface that provides students and researchers multiple ways of accessing the content. With state and regional histories, travel guides, biographies, speeches and more, the collection provides a range of primary documents.
Features nearly 1,000 online tutorials, practice tests, and e-books to help patrons of all ages. It offers job search and workplace skills improvement, skill building in reading, writing, math, and basic science, career certification and licensure exam prep, college and grad school entrance test prep, GED® test prep, and more.
This database provides online access to nearly 20,000 historical newspapers, offering full-page images with searchable full text dating from the early 1700s into the early 2000s. It contains full runs and portions of runs of known, regional, and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.
ParentTV offers thousands of on-demand vdeos and courses with content designed to support those who care for children, from infancy to teenage years. More than 40 experts provide research-based advice that is easy to understand via short, smart videos for busy teachers, parents, grandparents, and caregivers.
Access with Wichita Public Library card only
Formerly known as Reference USA, Data Axle Reference Solutions has data on both businesses and individuals, tailored to the needs of small business owners, marketing professionals, entrepreneurs, researchers, and job seekers. Use it to create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, secure funding, and locate individuals. This platform offers detailed profiles of more than 50 million U.S. businesses, 150 million U.S. residents, 7+ million job postings, internships, historical business data, and healthcare listings.
A collection of primarily full-text reference sources about a variety of topics in literature, history, and health. Also includes content on current events examined through a historical lens.
Some of the Salem Press resources are also available for viewing in the reference collection at the Advanced Learning Library. Reference books do not check out.
Value Line provides investment research on companies, industries, markets and economies. Its data include a vast array of financial measures for more than 6,000 stocks, 18,000 mutual funds, 200,000 options, and other securities.
Curated by your local librarians, the Wichita Public Library Digital Archives website is the online home of some of our rarest materials as well as the Tell Your COVID Story project.
